Research opportunity at the Royal Opera House Bridge

Into arts and cultural awareness, participation and enrichment.

Open Until:

Posted: 10/03/2022

Deadline for application is 12pm on 8th Oct. Applications received after the deadline will not be considered

Network description

Westcliff High School for Girls in as Teaching school. Working in partnership with their alliance of schools (17 in total) Westcliff are seeking to commission a piece of research into the arts and cultural awareness, participation and enrichment across the network.

The outcomes of this research will inform the co-creation of a targeted development programme in partnership with the Royal Opera House Bridge. It will also establish an extensive baseline against which to monitor impact of activities and intervention over the coming years.

Key dates/timeline

Appointment to be made and consultant(s) briefed by mid October.

Work to begin end October and report to steering group by mid January 2012.

What do we want to explore through the research?

What kind of vision for arts and cultural learning is apparent across this group of schools? To what extent is progress towards realising these aspirations reflected in school development plans? What are the barriers to progress?

To what extent is the arts and cultural offer quality assured, progressive and enshrined in policy?

Looking forwards to 2015, where would these schools like to be and how might an enriched arts and cultural offer help them to get there?

Context – The Royal Opera House Bridge Programme

The Royal Opera House has been asked to lead the Bridge programme in specific areas of the East and South East regions, stretching from Bedfordshire to north Kent, and including the Thames Gateway area.

 • Bedford Borough Council

• Central Bedfordshire Council

• Luton Borough Council

• Hertfordshire County Council and its districts and boroughs: Broxbourne, Dacorum, East Herts, Hertsmere, North Herts, St Albans, Stevenage, Three Rivers, Watford, Welwyn Hatfield

• Essex County Council and its districts and boroughs: Basildon, Braintree, Brentwood, Castle Point, Chelmsford, Colchester, Epping Forest, Harlow, Maldon, Rochford, Tendring, Uttlesford

• Southend Unitary Authority

• Thurrock Unitary Authority

• Kent County Council and the following boroughs: Dartford, Gravesham and Swale

• Medway Unitary Authority

 Send completed applications to emma.crook@roh.org.uk

 Full brief available below

"Just to say a huge thanks ... I am looking forward to progressing with this project thanks to your support, advice and guidance"

Contact Us